Move D, (one third of blog favourite Magic Mountain High) releases his compilation for the revered Fabric series later this month. The selector seems to have a taste for the more traditional forms of house music, albeit tracks with heavy bass and a nice lo-fi crunchiness. Of course it wouldn’t be a Move D mix without a few disco inflected cuts, in this case coming in the form of Liz Torres ‘Your Love is all I Need’ and tracks like Earl Jeffers ‘The Goose.’

The mix seems to really find its feet right around when Move D drops ‘Do it Right’ by Dom 877. Shortly following is a cut by Juju and Jordash in the form of their subtly trippy number ‘Loosey Goosey,’ which is more of what you might expect if you are a fan of MMH.

The end phase of the mix begins with the unreleased Move D and D Man cut entitled ‘Luvbyrds’ which is jazzy and deep in equal measures. Halfway into the track there is a nice bassline that compliments the more colourful bird sounds in the track. The mix finishes with two sophisticated house records, one by Workshop records artist Willow entitled ‘Feel Me’, and lastly ‘Unke,’ by Smallpeoples’ Christopher Rau.

We would recommed this mix for the more traditional house fans out there, as it doesnt lean too much towards the experimental. Needless to say its worth a listen and fabric have provided a promo mix below which should give you a feel for the sound…

Move D – Fabric 74 is released on the 24th of February.

01 Roy Davis Jr. – Under Tha Sun [Downtown 161]
02 Liz Torres – Your Love is All I Need (Dub Mix) [Luxor]
03 Liberty City – Some Lovin’ [Murk]
04 M.ono – Holding Back California [Rose]
05 Jamie Trench & Angus Jefford – Bringin’ Tha Heat [Roots For Bloom]
06 Earl Jeffers – The Goose [Catapult]
07 Darkman – Annihilating Rhythm (The Destruction Mix) [Strictly Rhythm]
08 MD III – Shake That Body (K-Alexi Dubs You The Right Way Mix) [Blackball Muzik]
09 Dom 877 – Do It Right [877 Records]
10 Juju & Jordash – Loosey Goosey [Dekmantel]
11 Christo – New Jazzno [Room With A View]
12 Last Magpie – Roots [Losing Suki]
13 Move D / D-Man – Luvbyrds [unreleased]
14 Willow – Feel Me [Workshop]
15 Smallpeople & Rau – Unke [Smallville]